Translated Works

Comments

• thebeautifulgamethebeautifulgame Durgapur,India29574 Points
    @Deb_Ban: Completely agree with you on that point. I had originally thought of 'dust' but my father had suggested that 'powder' would be the exact equivalent of the Bengali word. After going through several dictionaries and google translate, I found that powder is what everyone was suggesting, though I still feel that the word 'dust' conveys the nuances better. As I have already said, I am hardly qualified for the job, I have not done a translation specialization course (provided by universities like EFLU and JU- where I did my PhD). You see, there is a difference between 'translation' and 'transcreation', between 'paraphrase' (word for word translation) and 'metaphrase' ( say in other words). One needs to be well-versed in these aspects before attempting a translation. My job is to make the members aware of the transfer situation in the 80s and the 90s and make them acquainted with Nandi's works. Thanks for the comments.
    Deb_Banmunna219777archakreddevil87kartik91
  • Deb_BanDeb_Ban 9949 Points
    Hmmm ... I think I will go with 'powder' than 'dust'. Cheers!
    Posting the third part of section 2 in the next post. I intended to finish the whole section today but things got delayed. I will post the last part tommorrow
    munna219777

'But Jatri was written in his blood,’ Malabika could not believe her ears. Ghunu did not pay any attention to her. ‘I asked him, how much more they were paying him. He said, twenty five thousand. I told him to come back; we would pay him thirty thousand more than that. He said that he could not escape because Bata’s boys were guarding the door. Then I went running to Dulal’s house. After laying down all the facts before his wife, Madhuchhanda, I said that her husband would stand to lose thirty thousand rupees if he signed for Sarathi. I told her that she was the one who could rescue him from Sarathi’s den.’