10 Glorious Years of IFN

namewtheldnamewtheld Kolkata5665 Points
edited February 2021 in Forum & Website Stuffs
Dear friends,

This 31st January, IFN completed 10 glorious years and what a journey it has been! When we started this forum, we never thought that it would become the biggest hub/adda of passionate Indian football fans (and the silently visiting Indian football professionals😁). This forum has become the treasure trove of Indian football wisdom, history and expertise. Who can deny that discussions here may have influenced football transfers, scouting of foreign players and heck even team selections! On this occasion I would like to share the story of how IFN was born and some trivia.

Towards the end of 2010, I came in touch with @rudra who was in NCBS, Bangalore and had come to visit TIFR, Mumbai where I studied. Later on I realised that he is the same person I interacted with on Orkut IFF group since long. Orkut was dying at that time and founders of the IFF group were delaying the 'official' website where we all were supposed to move, possibly due to disagreements over ownership etc.

In December 2010, I visited NCBS for a weeklong course. That was the time I proposed the idea of having an Indian football forum. Rudra readily agreed. Both of us being biologists, it was a huge learning curve but within a month, with merely Rs 1700 investment and long sleepless nights of hard work, the forum was there! 

Initially we created multiple accounts and discussed Indian football under different usernames, because no one likes inactive forum 😉. Then slowly folks from Orkut group joined in and the rest is history.