AFC U-16 Championship 2018

ashindiaashindia 9264 Points
edited April 2017 in Youth Teams

Kuala Lumpur: The official draw for the AFC U-16 Championship 2018 qualifiers are set to take place at the AFC House in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on Friday.

The AFC U-16 Championship 2018 Qualifiers draw starts at 3pm, local time.

Some 45 Member Associations will take part in the AFC U-16 Championship 2018 qualifiers, and they have been divided into two (2) zones of WEST (West, South and Central) with 23 teams and EAST (East and ASEAN) with 22 teams. Both zones will have a total of five (5) groups.

Teams in each zone have been placed in five (5) seeding pots based on the rankings of the AFC U-16 Championship India 2016. Teams that did not participate in the 2016 edition have been added but as the lowest-ranked sides. The host nations for the qualifiers will be drawn into separate groups.

The teams will then be drawn into five (5) groups of five (5) teams and five (5) groups of four (4) teams.

Ten group winners and five (5) best second-placed teams will advance to the final stage of the tournament, along with the host MA. The AFC U-16 qualifiers are scheduled to take place from September 16 to 24.

WEST Zone:
Pot 1: Iraq, Islamic Republic of Iran (Host for Qualifiers), Oman, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan

Pot 2: Kyrgyz Republic, Saudi Arabia (Host for Qualifiers), Yemen, India, Tajikistan (Host for Qualifiers)

Pot 3: Syria, Jordan, Afghanistan, Qatar (Host for Qualifiers), Palestine

Pot 4: Bangladesh, Bahrain, Lebanon, Nepal (Host for Qualifiers), Turkmenistan

Pot 5: Maldives, Bhutan, Sri Lanka

EAST Zone:
Pot 1: DPR Korea, Japan, Vietnam, Korea Republic, Thailand (Host for Qualifiers)

Pot 2: Malaysia, Australia, China PR, Hong Kong, Laos

Pot 3: Timor-Leste, Myanmar, Chinese Taipei, Singapore, Mongolia (Host for Qualifiers)

Pot 4: Cambodia, Philippines, Macau, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands

Pot 5: Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia



Sign In or Register to comment.