2023 Calcutta Football League Premier Division

thebeautifulgamethebeautifulgame Durgapur,India29748 Points

The landmark 125TH EDITION of the Calcutta Football League will be held with a Premier Division that's bigger than ever.

The West Bengal state league, popularly known as CFL, goes seven divisions deep and has more than a hundred and fifty clubs playing in it; from amateurs all the way to I-League and ISL giants. Its top tier, the Premier Division, used to be divided into two (A and B) but this time the IFA (Indian Football Association, West Bengal) has decided to bring them together as two groups.

26 clubs will play in this large competition, divided into two groups of 13. In the first round, each club will play everyone else in the group once in a round-robin format. The top three teams from each group will then progress to the 'Super Six', which will be the championship round.

Group I: Mohun Bagan, Mohammedan Sporting, Calcutta FC, Tollygunge Agragami, Southern Samity, Dalhousie FC, Food Corporation of India, Peerless FC, Kalighat MS, Army Red, Diamond Harbour FC, United SC, Pathachakra FC

Group II: East Bengal, Bhawanipore FC, Police AC, Eastern Railways FC, Kidderpore FC, Calcutta Customs, WB Police, BSS FC, Aryan Club, George Telegraph, Railway FC, Rainbow FC, Wari FC

The arch rivals and two ISL giants, East Bengal and Mohun Bagan, are likely to field young, developmental sides in the CFL this season; and defending champions Mohammedan Sporting may take a similar approach.

An interesting feature of the CFL Premier Division this season is the absence of foreign players due to the AIFF's decision to ban foreigners from playing in local leagues


The big three of Kolkata football, Mohun Bagan, East Bengal and Mohammedan Sporting are all expected to play several CFL matches in their own stadiums

Live Streaming

InSports TV will stream live all 199 matches of the CFL Premier Division

Credits: thefangarage.com



Sign In or Register to comment.