Indian Super League 2015

Comments

• nikhilnikhil blru548 Points
     The owners should take a leaf out of Kejriwal's strategies promising free tickets,coupons,one on one meeting with Carlos,holiday package,etc and also make a grand announcement that if it wins ISL, will directly qualify for FIFA club world cup :D...since it worked for AAP why shouldn't for DD :P
    Manju
  • Deb_BanDeb_Ban 10069 Points
    Durand Cup was very popular among the expatriate Bengali communities of Delhi (and there was a sizable number of them). This was primarily because Durand was their only chance -- barring the DCM Trophy -- to see their heroes in flesh. Mohammedan SC also had huge fan following there. The location of Ambedkar helped the Bong communities of North Delhi and MSC fans of Old Delhi to reach there. I myself had watched matches when I was a student.

I can vouch that Delhi crowd was not solely from the military, at least till the nineties.

munna219777reddevil87
  • deepakcdeepakc Mumbai 3416 Points
    @Deb_ban, exactly what I was saying, however for the past few years what @Ashlesh says would be quite true.
  • coolgagancoolgagan 1109 Points
    Delhi is a football city but not Indian football city. People are huge football fans. But, only for European Football their appetite exists. 

Example: One of my friends is a die hard Arsenal supporter( So does he say). but, up until ISL he didn't know who Robert Pires was. Suddenly, one day he becomes Pires' fan after youtube. :P 
    reddevil87
  • nikhilnikhil blru548 Points
    @deepak

Unlike the Jats, Punjabis which constitute the majority demographic football was always popular among the residents of mughlai Delhi (Muslim community) and to an extend in the defense community...That explains why there is a significant support for MMMC...If a club is serious to establish itself , it should first identify their primary fan base or how or whom to target.